A woman eating vegan kale salad

Vegan vs Vegetarian – The 3 Clear Differences

Many people don’t know how to distinguish vegan vs vegetarian. Is being vegan and vegetarian the same thing? No, there are several differences. The main distinction is that vegetarians will eat dairy products and eggs, but vegans will not eat or use any animal product at all.

While there are several differences between people who say they are vegan and people who say they are vegetarian, both categories of people tend to share a lot in common. However, since we’re talking about a difference in terms, we’ll be looking at the difference between these two types of diets.

Vegan vs vegetarian

What vegans eat

People who say they are vegan have a stricter diet than those who say they are vegetarian. Vegans don’t eat meat or meat products, but they also go further and avoid all animal products.

People who say they are vegan do not use any products that have come from animals at all. This includes things like leather, wool, and fur clothes. Vegans also do not eat eggs or dairy products like cheese and milk.

Vegans also do not eat foods that are processed using animal products, such as refined white sugar and some vines.

What vegetarians eat

Vegetarians are less strict about what they eat and what products they use. They don’t eat meat or meat products but will still eat eggs, cheese, and other dairy products.

Many vegetarians may also eat fish, but they are technically pescatarians. There is a great deal of confusion about this because there are many types of vegetarians and people who call themselves vegetarians don’t always know the technical terms for what they are doing.

There are different types of vegetarians. Lacto-ovo-vegetarians eat both dairy products and eggs. Lacto-vegetarians don’t eat eggs but do consume dairy products. Ovo-vegetarians don’t eat dairy products or honey but do eat eggs.

The differences between a vegan and a vegetarian diet are eggs and milk

Why don’t vegans eat eggs, dairy, and honey?

There are a few reasons why vegans don’t eat eggs, dairy, and honey.

  • First and foremost, these foods come from animals, and vegans do not consume any animal products.
  • Secondly, the production of eggs, dairy, and honey often involve cruelty to animals. For example, hens used for egg production are typically kept in cramped, unsanitary conditions, and they are often subjected to painful procedures such as debeaking. Dairy cows are also kept in cramped conditions and are routinely given hormones and antibiotics.
  • Furthermore, the honey bee is a highly social creature that lives in complex colonies. However, the commercial honey industry often destroys hives and kills bees in the process of collecting honey.

While some people may think that vegans only avoid eating eggs, dairy, and honey for health reasons, this is not the case. Vegans believe that all animals deserve to be treated with compassion and respect. Therefore, they do not support the use of animals for food or any other purpose.

See also: Intensive Animal Farming: 4 Tips to Help End This Cruel Reality

Key takeaways

To sum up, there are a few key ways to distinguish between vegan vs vegetarian.

  • First, vegans do not eat any animal products, while vegetarians may still consume dairy and eggs.
  • Second, a vegan diet is typically plant-based, while a vegetarian diet may also include small amounts of fish or poultry.
  • Finally, vegans often avoid using products that are made from or tested on animals, such as leather and cosmetics, while vegetarians may not have this same restriction.


Petra profile image

Hi, I’m Petra and for most of my life, I was an omnivore. A vegan couple made me curious about veganism, so I did some research. What I found out about the animals, our planet, and the health benefits of a vegan diet made me go vegan overnight. It’s been 5 years now and it’s been one of the best decisions of my life.

Similar Posts