Many people don’t know the differences between a vegan and a vegetarian. Is being vegan and vegetarian the same thing? No, there are several differences between vegans and vegetarians. The main distinction is that vegetarians will eat dairy products and eggs, but vegans will not eat or use any animal product at all.
While there are several differences between people who say they are vegan and people who say they are vegetarian, both categories of people tend to share a lot in common. However, since we’re talking about a difference in terms, we’ll be looking at the difference between these two types of diets.
The main differences between a vegan and a vegetarian
What vegans eat
People who say they are vegan have a stricter diet than those who say they are vegetarian. Vegans don’t eat meat or meat products, but they also go further and avoid all animal products. People who say they are vegan do not use any products that have come from animals at all. This includes things like leather, wool, and fur clothes. Vegans also do not eat eggs or dairy products like cheese and milk. Many vegans also do not eat foods that are processed using animal products, such as refined white sugar and some wines.
What vegetarians eat
Many vegetarians may also eat fish, but they are technically pescatarians. There is a great deal of confusion about this because there are many types of vegetarians and people who call themselves vegetarians don’t always know the technical terms for what they are doing. There are different types of vegetarians. Lacto-ovo-vegetarians eat both dairy products and eggs. Lacto-vegetarians don’t eat eggs but do consume dairy products. Ovo-vegetarians don’t eat dairy products or honey but do eat eggs.
To sum up, there are a few key differences between a vegan and a vegetarian diet. First, vegans do not eat any animal products, while vegetarians may still consume dairy and eggs. Second, a vegan diet is typically plant-based, while a vegetarian diet may also include small amounts of fish or poultry. Finally, vegans often avoid using products that are made from or tested on animals, such as leather and cosmetics, while vegetarians may not have this same restriction.